Wednesday, February 2, 2022

New President and Vice President announced for IFFO

Following elections for the new IFFO Management Board (starting 1st January 2022), IFFO – The Marine Ingredients Organisation is pleased to announce that its new President is Gonzalo de Romaña (former Vice-President) and its new Vice-President is Egil Magne Haugstad.

Gonzalo de Romaña is the CEO of Peruvian fishmeal and fish oil producer Tecnológica de Alimentos (TASA). He has been a member of the IFFO Board of Directors since 2018.

President Gonzalo de Romaña states, 'I am delighted to carry on the work with IFFO, The Marine Ingredients organisation, engaging with the whole marine ingredients value chain, supporting our members while addressing important topics, such as climate change, nutrition and responsible sourcing. More than ever, I am convinced that marine ingredients hold the key to an improved food production system, providing the most nutritious protein with a low carbon footprint.'

Egil Magne Haugstad is the CEO of Pelagia AS. Pelagia's Head Office is in Norway with factories concentrated on North Atlantic. The Fishmeal and -oil factories are in Norway, England, Scotland and Ireland. Pelagia is also the largest producer of Pelagic Seafood globally and high-quality Omega-3 concentrates in Norway. Pelagia runs the biggest fleet of vessels collecting byproducts categories 3 and 2 from the Salmon industry.

'Having been an IFFO Board member for two years, I hope I can contribute to the development of IFFO being an organisation supporting its members' production of sustainable marine ingredients' Egil Magne Haugstad says.

IFFO is truly grateful to its outgoing board members who have dedicated significant time and energy to help grow IFFO as a science-based organisation with thought leadership: Anne Mette Baek, IFFO's past President (2020-2021), Humberto Speziani, IFFO's past President as well (2010-2011 and 2014-2015), Mike Copeland, IFFO's past President (2016-2017), Scott Herbert and Juan Carlos Ferrer.

IFFO wants to congratulate and welcome to the Board: Adriana Giudice, Walter Martinez, Nick Sterrett, Mohammed Shawkath Showry, Johannes Palsson, Andrè du Preez and José Miguel Tirado.

For more information about the IFFO visit the website, HERE.

The Aquaculturists

No comments:

Post a Comment