Monday, December 11, 2017

12/12/2017: Entry for Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards now open

The 2018 Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards are now officially open for entry, enabling individuals and companies from all aspects of the industry to pit themselves against the crème de la crème of the UK’s aquaculture sector

The awards present a unique opportunity to recognise individuals, companies or organisations that have made the most significant contribution to the UK’s aquaculture industry over the last two years and entries and nominations are invited from the country’s producers, suppliers and academic institutions. Not only are they a means of celebrating and sharing best practice across the industry but they will also showcase the industry’s achievements to a wider audience, culminating in a spectacular awards dinner on the 23 May 2018, during the Aquaculture UK 2018 exhibition in Aviemore.

Organised by 5m Publishing, and supported by a number of commercial partners as sponsors, all categories are free to enter. The awards, previously run by The Crown Estate, consist of 12 categories, including three brand new ones, and reflect the diversity of the UK aquaculture industry. As well as a thriving salmon sector, which is breaking all manner of records in terms of sales, the UK is also currently seeing a boom in the production of wrasse and lumpsuckers, an increase in farmed halibut and trout and new highs in mussel and oyster production.

“The former Crown Estate Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards were a key highlight on the industry calendar, championing the great work going on across the sector in terms of husbandry, innovation and environmental sustainability, and Scottish Sea Farms considers itself honoured to feature amongst the past winners,” reflects Jim Gallagher, MD of Scottish Sea Farms – winners of two categories, including Best Aquaculture Company, in 2015.

“For this same spirit of recognition and reward to continue under the new Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards can only be a good thing for the sector, further fuelling ambition to not just deliver but continually drive forward best practice,” he adds.

“We are delighted that the awards have been resurrected and will definitely be putting in an application for the same category this year,” says Dougie Johnson, sales director of Akva Scotland, who won the Supplier of the Year award in 2015.

At a time when a new generation is being attracted to aquaculture it is also important to pick out the likely future leaders of the industry, whose potential is being celebrated through the debut inclusion of a Rising Star Award. And, while the winners of 11 of the categories will be chosen by a panel of eminent industry judges, this year a new award, ‘the People’s Choice’, will be chosen by the wider industry, giving all those present at Aquaculture UK, and further afield, the chance to vote for the people who’ve helped to inspire their careers in this thriving sector.

These awards are open to everyone involved in the UK aquaculture industry, no matter how large or small, who:

• Employ the highest standards of aquaculture husbandry.
• Supply aquaculture products to local, national and international markets.
• Farm with a high level of environmental awareness and deliver a high-quality product.

Entries are invited for companies and individuals for the following awards categories:

• Finfish Farm Manager of the Year
• Shellfish Farm Manager of the Year
• Outstanding Contribution to Industry
• Aquaculture Seafood Product of the Year
• Aquaculture Supplier of the Year
• Rising Star

The remaining four awards are based on nominations:

• Community Initiative Award
• Business Development Award
• Stewardship and Sustainability Award
• Innovation Award

To find out more about each of the categories and to enter or nominate visit the website, HERE, and complete the online forms. All entries and nominations will be dealt with in the strictest confidence.

Awards timetable
A full list of categories and details of how to enter the awards can be found on the awards website, HERE.

The closing date for entries Monday 5 March 2018.

The shortlists will be announced in early April and followed by the awards ceremony on Wednesday 23 May 2018 during the Aquaculture UK exhibition in Aviemore.

For more information visit the website, HERE, or email

Visit the Aquaculture UK website, HERE.

The Aquaculturists
This blog is maintained by The Aquaculturists staff and is supported by the
magazine International Aquafeed which is published by
Perendale Publishers Ltd

For additional daily news from aquaculture around the world: aquaculture-news

No comments:

Post a Comment

See our data and privacy policy Click here