Thursday, September 10, 2015

10/09/2015: New Board to bring change to fisheries and aquaculture research in Australia
Image: Alexandre Dulaunoy
The FRDC welcomes the announcement and appointment of six new directors to the FRDC Board by Federal Agriculture Minister, the Hon Barnaby Joyce and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, the Hon Senator Richard Colbeck.
The appointments were based on an extensive selection process overseen by the presiding member Professor Glenn Hurry, with input from the government appointed selection committee.
The Hon Harry Woods, FRDC chair, welcomed the announcement noting the large number of high calibre people who applied to be an FRDC Director.

“The FRDC is in the process of bringing in significant change to both the organisation structure and the way we fund research, development and extension projects. As part of these changes the FRDC is moving to a regionally distributed model for delivery of its functions that will provide for both a regional and national approach to delivery,” says the Hon. Harry Woods.

In addition the new FRDC Research, Development and Extension Plan 2015-2020 heralds a new focus and leadership on three key national priorities and empowerment of stakeholders (research, commercial, recreational and Indigenous) to collaborate and partner on other projects. The FRDC will also deliver against its new roles in marketing and extension.

The new directors bring with them the skills and expertise to assist drive a change agenda that commenced three years ago, under the previous board. Changes that aim to have vibrant fishing and aquaculture sectors which adopt world-class research to achieve sustainability and prosperity.

New directors appointed from 1 September until 31 August 2018 are:

  • Dr Renata Brooks – Chair of Queensland Government’s Biosecurity Capabilities Review
  • Professor Colin Buxton – Adjunct Professor, University of Tasmania, co-chair Bioregional Advisory Panels, Department of the Environment
  • Mr John Harrison ─ CEO of the Western Australian Fishing Industry Association
  • Dr Lesley MacLeod – CEO of Dairy Innovation Australian, Board member for Murray Dairy Inc
  • Professor Daryl McPhee – Associate Dean, Bond University
  • Mr John Susman – Managing Director and owner of Fishheads Seafood Strategy
The FRDC Chair and management express thanks to the outgoing directors – Ms Heather Brayford, Mr Brett McCallum, Dr Bruce Mapstone, Dr Peter O’Brien and the late Mr David Thomason for their significant effort in delivering tangible outcomes for the Australian fishing industry.

Visit the FRDC site HERE.

The Aquaculturists
This blog is maintained by The Aquaculturists staff and is supported by the
magazine International Aquafeed which is published by
Perendale Publishers Ltd

For additional daily news from aquaculture around the world: aquaculture-news

No comments:

Post a Comment

See our data and privacy policy Click here